Levenger customer escapes with no questions asked

I’ve always admired the Levenger catalog.

I’ve fantasized in its writerly pages and imagined the life of a serious author that I, well, could only imagine. I even bought my Dad one of those fancy birds-eye maple journals for a birthday present once. I remember he said it was so beautiful that he didn’t think any words he wrote in it could do it justice. In the end, he only ever wrote a few pages, but I treasure that journal now that he’s gone for its natural beauty and his short reflections, recorded in his own hand (which precious few can read).

Now I am trying to simplify my life and household, and reducing catalog clutter is one of the tasks at hand. You see, I never order from catalogs. I try not to buy things I don’t need. If there’s something I want to buy, I browse online. I really cannot stand the flood of catalogs that enters (and then quickly exits) my home.

So now when I receive a catalog, my current practice is to immediately call the 800 number and request to be removed from their mailing list. I did this with Levenger last weekend.

“Wait!” I hear you cry. “I thought you said you liked the catalog and were a happy customer. What gives?”

What most marketers fail to understand is that my decision to no longer receive their catalog does not mean that I have chosen not to be a customer. I just happen to prefer to shop online. Problem is, most call centers are either not equipped or not inclined to figure this out. To the point, Levenger accepted my opt out request but never bothered to ask why. They didn’t ask if I was unhappy with their products or service. They didn’t ask if I would prefer to purchase online. They didn’t ask if I wanted to receive email notification of future sales.

Levenger failed to take advantage of the best possible customer learning opportunity – the inbound call.

Leave a Reply

